September 01, 2017
Contact: Xenia Orona

Press Statement: Dems stand with the immigrant rights community for DACA and against the actions of the Trump administration

Phoenix, AZ - The Latino Caucus of the Arizona Democratic Party and other Arizona Democratic Party Groups release statement in response to recent actions by the Trump administration:

“We, the undersigned, stand with the immigrant rights community against the actions of the Trump administration. The threatened removal of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and Temporary Protected Status (TPS) directly targets our friends, families, and neighbors. The administration should be disgraced because the students, parents, homeowners, taxpayers within the immigrant community have exemplified American and Arizonan values, time and again.

We call on all people of good moral character to take a stand and support the organizations working to protect our immigrant brothers and sisters with work, donations, and time. These organizations include LUCHA, Aliento, CAIR-AZ, CNL, One Arizona, Mi Familia Vota, among many others.

We urge all people to make calls to Senators McCain and Flake, and our Congressional Representatives in support of DACA and urging them to act against the president’s actions. We encourage the direct participation of our base, candidates, staff, and supporters in the fight to defend DACA.”


Democratic Party Leaders signed on so far:


Arizona Democratic Party
Alexis Tameron Kinsey, Chair
Herschel Fink, Executive Director
Dominique Medina, Chair, Latino Caucus

Maricopa County Democratic Party
Steven Slugocki, Chair
Miguel Medrano, Executive Director
Maritza Miranda Saenz, Chair, Latino Outreach Committee

Santa Cruz County Democratic Party
Mary Darling, Chair

Pinal County Democratic Party
David Coward, Chair

Mohave County Democratic Party
Marty Luna-Wolfe, Chair

Patrick Seifter, Chair, LD24 Democrats
Brion Neeley, Chair, LD23 Democrats
Natali Fierros Bock, Chair, LD8 Democrats
Jan Nichols, Chair, LD30 Democrats
Fern Ward, Chair, LD27 Democrats
Jacob Schmitt, Chair, LD17 Democrats
Christina Shelley, FNPC, Chair, LD12 Democrats
Nancy Schriber, Chair, LD28 Democrats
Bill Ford, Chair, LD13 Democrats
Monica Gallardo Pimentel, Chair, LD29 Democrats
Dr. Janie Hydrick, Chair, LD18 Democrats
Alejandro Chavez, Chair, LD19 Democrats